2021-22 NHS Members

The Thayer Central chapter of the National Honor Society had their 2021-22 Induction Ceremony Monday night. The chapter inducted one new member, Avery Drohman, as well as 14 honorary members. 

Avery joined current NHS members Taylor Broers, Ashlyn Cooper, Sydney Escritt (Treasurer), Madison Hammer, Cassandra Hergott (Vice President), Takaylynn Hergott, AnnaMae Howe, Jayme Huhman, Kinsley Kugel, Megan Lukert, Jordan Mariska, Brenner McLaughlin, Beth Poisel, Allison Richardson, Kylie Seefus, Kaisha Solomon, Zach Vandervoort, Treyton Waldmeier, Madelynn Wells (Secretary), Ava Wiedel and Jasa Wiedel (President).

Students are selected for National Honor Society based on their accomplishments in the four pillars of the National Honor Society (Character, Service, Leadership and Scholarship). Students apply for membership and then are chosen by a faculty committee.

Each senior NHS member also choses one honorary member to induct, someone who has been an inspiration to them and who also exemplifies the four pillars of the National Honor Society. The following individuals were inducted this year: Justin Bomar (by Taylor Broers), Cris Smith (by Sydney Escritt), Deloris Boman (by Cassie Hergott), Carley Bruning (by Takaylynn Hergott), Kelsey Kirchhoff (by AnnaMae Howe), Stephanie Lanik (by Jayme Huhman), Rachel Eickman (by Kinsley Kugel), Amy Wiedel (by Megan Lukert), Brett Larson (by Brenner McLaughlin), Sue Mussman (by Kaisha Solomon), Tom Kiburz (by Zach Vandervoort), Tyler Hergott (by Treyton Waldmeier), Bryan Solomon (by Madelynn Wells) and Jenna Pachta (by Jasa Wiedel).

The National Honor Society ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for high school students. There are chapters in more than 16,000 high schools and, since 1921, millions of students have been selected for membership.